AI

Artificial Intelligence, Real Inequality?

Why This Debate and Why Now?

Robots and artificial intelligence aren’t just rising — they’re here, reshaping our digital landscape. AI is revolutionizing highways, hospitals and homes, from driverless cars to automated medical devices and delivery drones. The rewards are promising, but at what cost? And who’s left out?

The risks and unintended consequences of AI are not evenly distributed or transparently regulated: data breaches, identify theft, job loss, widening wealth inequality and human rights violations that challenge top programmers and policymakers to search for safeguards. But AI also promises to cure diseases, improve climate science and save more lives.

Is AI worth the risk? Is the revolution even containable? Could we pull the brakes if we tried?

On April 3, 2019, Doha Debates will weigh the merits and challenges of AI by inviting speakers to debate critical scenarios:

AI will improve humans’ overall well-being, so AI should be unleashed.
AI will harm humans’ overall well-being, so AI should be slowed down and strictly regulated.
A balance can be found between raw innovation and ethical restraint.

Advocates for AI defend it as manageable and say the risks are marginal, and the rewards life-improving, by empowering more people with instant information. But critics warn about transparency gaps and power disparities, including a slippery slope into a digital apocalypse where superintelligent machines surpass humans’ ability to control them. More than one top engineer has called AI the greatest threat to human survival.

Is common ground possible?

Mark your calendar for April 3 and search for solutions now @DohaDebates with the hashtag #DearWorld.

Our debate will take place April 3, 2019

AI Debate in Qatar

7 p.m. (Doha Local Time)

Add to Calendar 04/09/2019 07:00 PM America/New_York Doha Debates: AI Debate – Artificial Intelligence, Real Inequality false

How to Join the Debate

Studio Audience

If you are a student in Qatar, you can apply to be in the live studio audience here.

Watch the Livestream

Doha Debates will broadcast live exclusively on Twitter from @DohaDebates. Join the conversation using the hashtag #DearWorld

New York 11 a.m.
London 4 p.m.
Berlin 5 p.m.
Johannesburg 6 p.m.
Doha 7 p.m.
Mumbai 9:30 p.m.

NEXT DEBATE COMING IN

Days

ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE

An Expert’s Guide to Getting Along

Doha Debates – Season One Preview
(Un)divided

Refugees on Manus Island Speak Out

Related articles

ARTICLE / 03.12.2018

How Definitions Drive Debates: What We Mean by “Artificial Intelligence”
The rise of robots and artificial intelligence is reshaping the world’s highways, homes and hospitals, but not everywhere, and not for everyone.

ARTICLE / 03.12.2018

It’s Time for a New Kind of Debate

A welcome letter from our Managing Director Amjad Atallah.

ARTICLE / 14.02.2019

How Definitions Drive Debates: What We Mean by “Refugee”

More than 25 million people are refugees today. It’s the highest number in history, and the number is relentlessly rising …

ARTICLE / 02.22.2019

How an Unlikely Friendship Can Teach Us to Bridge the Political Divide

An Iraqi-American refugee and a Trump supporter met on opposite sides of a political rally — and found common ground. 

Our Participants

SPEAKERS

Three speakers, three perspectives. Each invited speaker presents a view and opinion on a possible solution to a world challenge.

Muzoon Almellehan

Syrian refugee and
education activist

Marc Lamont Hill

American academic,
author and activist

Douglas Murray

British author
and journalist

Connector

The role of connector is a bridge–builder, combining elements of each opinion to create an unorthodox, challenging response that deconstructs arguments and examines their consequences.

Sanam Naraghi–Anderlini

Peace campaigner, author and
consultant to the UN

Moderator

Our moderator assists the speakers and audience throughout the show and is the audience’s advocate for accuracy and insight.

Ghida Fakhry

International broadcast journalist
and award–winning presenter

Correspondent

Our correspondent acts as the voice of the outside world during our live debate.

Nelufar Hedayat

Award–winning journalist
and documentary maker