Doha Debates– Don't settle for a Divided World

Join our virtual audience for an upcoming debate

Part of the virtual audience at our latest event.

Sign up to join the virtual audience


Would you like to join one of our upcoming events as a virtual audience member? We’d love to hear from you.
You can register your interest by filling out the short form linked above.
Tell us a little about yourself and why you would like to join the virtual audience for one of our upcoming events

What does it mean to be part of our audience? First and foremost, you get to watch and be part of the show. If you’re joining one of our main debates, you’ll have a crucial role as part of the voting panel: You, along with the other members of the virtual audience, will decide which argument you found most convincing.

We’ve had some of the most world renowned people speak at our debates: world-class philosophers, writers, scientists, activists and more. As part of the virtual audience you’ll get the opportunity to ask them your questions.

Finally, we often program guest lectures and discussion groups ahead of our debates. This will help you broaden your knowledge of the subject and get you ready to ask some tough questions to our speakers.

 

Upcoming virtual events

We’re very much looking forward to welcoming you all as members of our virtual audience and voting panel at our virtual debate on September 20. Before becoming a virtual audience member, we ask that you attend at least one of the following short talks, which are followed by Q&As with professors who will help you understand the topic and start thinking about themes and questions that you could ask during the debate.

 

Innovating global cooperation: Reflections for the post-COVID-19 era

Dr Evren Tok
Associate Professor and Program Coordinator for the MA program in Islam and Global Affairs at the College of Islamic Studies

Date:
Monday, September 14, 2020

Time:
7 a.m. San Francisco  / 10 a.m. New York / 3 p.m. London  / 4 p.m. Johannesburg  / 5 p.m. Doha  / 7:30 p.m. Mumbai / 11 p.m. Tokyo  / 11 p.m. Seoul

 

The impact of disinformation and COVID-19: The challenges for global governance

Dr. Marc Owen Jones Ph.D.
Assistant Professor in Middle East Studies and Digital Humanities, HBKU

Date:
Wednesday, September 16, 2020

Time:
7 a.m. San Francisco  / 10 a.m. New York  / 3 p.m. London  / 4 p.m. Johannesburg  / 5 p.m. Doha  / 7:30 p.m. Mumbai  / 11 p.m. Tokyo  / 11 p.m.  Seoul