Water Scarcity

GETTING WATER INTO EVERYONE’S HANDS

Why This Debate and Why Now?

No one can survive more than three days without water, but a quarter of the world is running out of it. It’s a scarcity crisis on the rise, compounded by climate change. How do we get water into everyone’s hands? Who is best equipped to solve the challenge? Watch the full debate and read our recap.

Our Participants

SPEAKERS

Three speakers, three perspectives. Each invited speaker presents a view and opinion on a possible solution to a world challenge.

Yana Abu Taleb

Jordanian director of EcoPeace Middle East

Georgie Badiel

Burkinabé model, author and activist

Obakeng Leseyane

South African education advocate and youth activist

 

 

Connector

The role of connector is to combine elements of each opinion to create a new response that deconstructs arguments and examines their consequences.

Govinda Clayton

Senior researcher in peace processes at the Centre for Security Studies at ETH Zurich

 

Moderator

Our moderator assists the speakers and audience throughout the show and is the audience’s advocate for accuracy and insight.

Ghida Fakhry

International broadcast journalist and award–winning presenter

Correspondent

Our correspondent acts as the voice of the outside world during our live debate.


Nelufar Hedayat

Award–winning journalist and documentary maker

Our debate will take place September 10, 2019

Water Scarcity Debate in Cape Town, South Africa

Cape Town 6 p.m.

Doha 7 p.m.

New York 12 p.m.

Mumbai 9:30 p.m.

Tokyo 1 a.m.

Watch the debate live at twitter.com/dohadebates
Add to Calendar 09/10/2019 07:00 PM Europe/London GMT+1 Water Scarcity Debate in Cape Town, South Africa false

How to Join the Debate

In-Studio Audience:

If you are a student in South Africa, you can register to be in the live studio audience here.

Doha Viewing Event:

Join us for a live viewing event and reception.

Register here.

Doha Debates will broadcast live on Twitter from @DohaDebates.

Join the conversation using the hashtag #DearWorld.

Cape Town 6 p.m.
Doha 7 p.m.
New York 12 p.m.
Mumbai 9:30 p.m.
Tokyo 1 a.m.

Find the time in your city here

NEXT DEBATE COMING IN

Days

GLOBALIZATION