Globalization

OUR FUTURE OR OUR FAILURE?

Why This Debate and Why Now?

Global threats are growing fast, from climate change and nuclear weapons to the spread of infectious disease and job loss from automation. As challenges rise, globalization is rising with it — a highly contested concept. Globalization is the interdependence of governments, economies, people and products, and while it’s supported as a model for protecting human rights and the environment, it’s criticized as a slippery slope to cross-border bullying, bigotry, elitism and colonialism. Which variations of globalization, if any, are most balanced? Is broad-based action or local problem-solving the most ethical path forward? Or is there some way in between?

Three experts on globalization will tackle the topic on July 24 in search of common ground. Mark your calendar, and join the debate right now @DohaDebates with the hashtag #DearWorld.

Our Participants

SPEAKERS

Three speakers, three perspectives. Each invited speaker presents a view and opinion on a possible solution to a world challenge.

Sisonke Msimang

South African author and journalist focused on gender, race and
democracy

Medea Benjamin

American co-founder of human rights group Global Exchange and peace group Code Pink

Parag Khanna

Indian American author, journalist and founder of data-driven strategic firm FutureMap

 

 

Connector

The role of connector is to combine elements of each opinion to create a new response that deconstructs arguments and examines their consequences.

Govinda Clayton

Senior researcher in peace processes at the Centre for Security Studies at ETH Zurich

 

Moderator

Our moderator assists the speakers and audience throughout the show and is the audience’s advocate for accuracy and insight.

Ghida Fakhry

International broadcast journalist and award–winning presenter

Correspondent

Our correspondent acts as the voice of the outside world during our live debate.


Nelufar Hedayat

Award–winning journalist and documentary maker

Our debate will take place July 24, 2019

Globalization Debate in Edinburgh, Scotland

2:15 PM – 4:00 PM BST

Watch the debate live on twitter.com/dohadebates.

Add to Calendar 07/24/2019 02:00 PM Europe/London GMT+1 Globalization Debate in Edinburgh, Scotland​ false

How to Join the Debate

In-Studio Audience

If you are a student in Scotland, you can apply to be in the live studio audience here.

Doha Viewing Event

Join us at Qatar National Library on July 24 for a live viewing event and reception.

Register here.

Doha Debates will broadcast live on Twitter from @DohaDebates.

Join the conversation using the hashtag #DearWorld.

New York 9:15 a.m.
Edinburgh 2:15 p.m.
Berlin 3:15 p.m.
Johannesburg 3:15 p.m.
Doha 4:15 p.m.
Mumbai 6:45 p.m.
Tokyo 10:15 p.m.

Find the time in your city here

NEXT DEBATE COMING IN

Days

GLOBALIZATION